Gov. Tim Walz fills 2 judicial vacancies in Minnesota’s seventh Judicial District – InForum

ST. PAUL — Minnesota Gov. Tim Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan have introduced the appointments of Leah duCharme and Heidi Schultz as District Court docket judges in Minnesota’s Seventh Judicial District.

The seats will probably be chambered in Moorhead in Clay County and in St. Cloud in Stearns County.

duCharme will probably be changing Decide Amber B. Gustafson in Clay County,  whereas Schultz will exchange Decide Kris H. Davick-Halfen in Stearns County.

Leah duCharme Headshot.jpg

Leah duCharme.

Particular to The Discussion board.

duCharme is a senior shareholder at Gjesdahl Legislation, the place she practices primarily household regulation, together with marriage dissolutions, youngster custody, paternity, youngster and spousal help, home violence, protecting orders, adoption and guardianships.

She earned her bachelor’s diploma from Moorhead State College (now Minnesota State College Moorhead), and her J.D. diploma from the College of North Dakota College of Legislation

Schultz is an assistant Todd County lawyer, the place she prosecutes grownup legal instances of all ranges. She was beforehand a associate at Swenson Lervick Syverson Trosvig Jacobson Schultz Cass, and he or she has additionally served as an assistant county lawyer in Douglas, Olmsted and St. Louis Counties.

Heidi Schultz Headshot.jpeg

Heidi Schultz.

Particular to The Discussion board.

Schultz earned her bachelor’s diploma and her J.D. diploma from Valparaiso College.

Walz mentioned duCharme will probably be a superb addition to the Seventh Judicial District, including, “Her distinctive background and perspective, in addition to her expertise in household regulation, will probably be an amazing asset to Clay County.”

He described Schultz as an skilled litigator and a loyal public servant who has “a deep dedication to making sure that our justice system is aware of everybody who comes earlier than it.”

Minnesota’s Seventh Judicial District encompasses the counties of Becker, Benton, Clay, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, and Wadena.